Welcome to Catalyze 2022!
March 3-5, 2022 at the Watergate Hotel in Washington, DC

2022 Award Nominees

Billy E. Hooper for Distinguished Service

Dr. Daryl D. Buss - DVM, PhD

Dr. Darryl D. Buss, former Dean and Professor Emeritus of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2022 AAVMC Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service for the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC). The Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service is presented to an individual whose leadership and vision has made a significant contribution to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession. Dr. Buss has provided leadership in academic veterinary medicine for over 50 years, serving most recently at the University of Wisconsin-Madison for 17 years as the Dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine, and a faculty member in the Department of Comparative Biosciences. Dr. Buss authored or co-authored 74 publications that substantially contributed to the body of knowledge in cardiology, and his research was funded by the National Institutes of Health and the American Heart Association. In addition, to his many notable contributions to academia, he also served in various veterinary medicine professional organizations. Dr. Buss served as Editor-in Chief of the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education (JVME) from 2013-2021.

Read More

Distinguished Veterinary Teacher

Dr. Erin Malone - DVM, PhD

Dr. Erin Malone, Professor, Assistant Dean of Education; Co-Interim Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs for the University of Minnesota, College of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2022 American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis. This award is one of the most prestigious of teaching awards in the academic veterinary medicine community. Her teaching areas include gastrointestinal, respiratory, and urogenital surgery in large animals, with research interests that include the impacts of surgery and pregnancy on large animal intestinal motility, equine carpal arthritis, the treatment of aural plaques and sarcoids, as well as the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Read More

Excellence in Research

Dr. Barry Rouse - DVM, PhD, DSc

Dr. Barry T. Rouse, Lindsay Young Distinguished Professor, University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2022 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award. The AAVMC Excellence in Research Award designates the outstanding veterinary medical researcher of the year as selected by a committee of peers. Dr. Rouse is an exceptional researcher and known for his ability to challenge the status quo. He is also known for many significant contributions to the field and executes originality in experimental practices in which he often is the first to uncover impactful findings. He has been continuously funded for research by the National Institutes for Health (NIH) for the past 43 years and garnered more than $20M+ in funding. Additionally, Dr. Rouse has been first to create many experimental practices along with authoring 400+ peer reviewed scientific manuscripts.  His peers recognize him as both a scholar, mentor and sought-after speaker to both national and international audiences in the field.  

Read More

Iverson Bell

Dr. Lorrie Gaschen - DVM, PhD

Dr. Lorrie Gaschen, Adjunct Professor of Diagnostic Imaging, Louisiana State University of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2022 Iverson Bell Award. The Iverson Bell Award recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions for underrepresented minorities in veterinary medical education. Dr. Gaschen created the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) in the school of Veterinary Medicine. Her transformational efforts were instrumental in increasing student diversity from 7% to 30% in the School of Veterinary Medicine over 4 years. The entering class of 2024 included 28% of underrepresented minorities and the highest total number of African American students admitted to a class in the school’s history. During her tenure, LSU School of Veterinary Medicine tied for Second place of all accredited veterinary schools in the AAVMC for number of diverse faculty. As a passionate supporter of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) her efforts have helped both students, faculty, and advancing the field of academic veterinary medicine.

Read More

Patricia M. Lowrie Diversity Leadership Scholarship

Mr. Ron Orchard - BS, MPH, RVT

Mr. Ron Orchard of Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine is the recipient of the 2022 Patricia M. Lowrie Diversity Leadership Scholarship. The award recognizes veterinary students who have demonstrated exemplary potential as future leaders and have made significant contributions to enhancing diversity and inclusion in academic veterinary medicine. Mr. Orchard is a 4th year, dual-degree DVM/MPH student. Mr. Orchard initially came to Kansas State University as the lead specialty technician for the Shelter Medicine Program. Additionally, he is academic scholar and author of both scholarly publications and posters. As a role model and mentor for youth, he encourages continuing the conversation on the importance of diversity and inclusion and raising awareness on the need for diverse backgrounds and providing veterinary access for all communities.

Read More

Attention: all attendees must provide proof of vaccination before checking in. Learn More